Traditional Karate

Posted By PeterSoto On Saturday, July 13th, 2019 With 0 Comments

In traditional karate there are five traditional styles that are considered as classical and that maintain the pure traditional teaching of Eastern Karate. These styles can be seen in competition in tournaments of the World Association of Karate which have strict rules in the participation of Kata and Kumite.

Here I have compiled useful information of these styles of Karate based on my practice in two of these for a few years, Kiokushinkai and Shotokan. I had the opportunity to train Shotokan in Chile and Kiokushinkai here in San Diego, California.

These are the 5 most important Karate Styles which are:


Basic Common Knowledge and Karate Techniques.

The following Karate Techniques are the base of the system and when they are put together we have the essence of the art seen in Katas. Karate Techniques can have a unique way in each Karate style but the base is the same because the outcome is the same.

Goju-Ryu Karate

Goju-ryu, Japanese for “hard-soft style”, is one of the main traditional Okinawan styles of karate, featuring a combination of hard and soft techniques. Both principles, hard and soft, come from the famous martial arts book used by Okinawan masters during the 19th and 20th centuries, the Bubishi.

Belt Rank in Goju-Ryu Karate

  • White 1 stripe
  • White 2 Stripe
  • Yellow
  • Orange
  • Green
  • Blue
  • Brown
  • Brown 1 Stripe
  • Brown 2 Stripe
  • Black

Kyokushinkai Karate

Kyokushin is a style of stand-up fighting and was founded in 1964 by Korean-Japanese Masutatsu Oyama. “Kyokushin” is Japanese for “the ultimate truth”. It is rooted in a philosophy of self-improvement, discipline and hard training. Its full contact style has international appeal. Karate Techniques in KyoKushinkai are strong and we can find them in each rank.

Belt Rank in Kyokushinkai Karate

  • White Mukyu
  • Orange 10th Kyu
  • Orange with one blue stripe 9th Kyu
  • Blue 8th Kyu
  • Blue with one green stripe 7th Kyu
  • Yellow 6th Kyu
  • Yellow with one orange stripe 5th Kyu
  • Green 4th Kyu
  • Green with one brown stripe 3rd Kyu
  • Brown 2nd Kyu
  • Brown with one black stripe 1st Kyu
  • Black with one gold stripe Shodan
  • Black with two gold stripes Nidan
  • Black with three gold stripes   Sandan
  • Black with four gold stripes Yondan
  • Black with five gold stripes Godan
  • Black with six gold stripes Rokudan
  • Black with seven gold stripes Shichidan
  • Black with eight gold stripes Hachidan
  • Black with nine gold stripes Kyūdan
  • Black with ten gold stripes Jūdan

Shito-Ryu Karate

Shito-ryu is a form of karate that was founded in 1934 by Kenwa Mabuni. A synthesis of various different Okinawan schools of martial arts, the Shitō-ryū is primarily practiced in Osaka.

Belt Rank in Shito-Ryu Karate

  • White Belt – Beginner
  • Yellow Stripe Belt – 8th kyu
  • Yellow Belt – 7th kyu
  • Orange Belt – 6th kyu
  • Green Belt – 5th kyu
  • Purple Belt – 4th kyu
  • Brown Belt – 3rd kyu
  • Brown Belt – 2nd kyu
  • Brown Belt – 1st kyu
  • Black Belt – 1st Dan

Shotokan Karate

Shōtōkan is a style of karate, developed from various martial arts by Gichin Funakoshi and his son Gigo Funakoshi.

Belt Rank in Shotokan Karate

  • White belt – Taikioku Shodan
  • Yellow belt – Heian Shodan
  • Orange belt – Heian Nidan
  • Green belt – Heian Sandan
  • Blue belt kyu 5 – Heian Yondan
  • Blue belt Kyu  4 – Heian Godan
  • Brown belt kyu 3 – Tekki Shodan
  • Brown belt kyu 2 – choice between Kanku Dai and Bassai Dai
  • Brown belt kyu 1 – choice between Kanku Dai, Bassai Dai, Empi, Jion
  • Black Belt 1s Dan

Wado-Ryu Karate

Wado-ryu is one of the five major karate styles and was founded by Hironori Otsuka. The style itself is individual in its emphasis on not just striking, but tai sabaki, joint locks and throws.

Belt Rank in Wado-Ryu Karate

  • Orange Belt 13th kyu
  • Yellow Belt 12th kyu
  • Blue Belt 11th kyu
  • Blue Belt with stripe 10th kyu
  • Green Belt 9th kyu
  • Green Belt with stripe 8th kyu
  • Purple Belt 7th kyu
  • Purple Belt with stripe 6th kyu
  • Red Belt 5th kyu
  • Red Belt with stripe 4th kyu
  • Brown Belt 3rd kyu
  • Brown Belt with stripe 2nd kyu
  • Brown Belt with 2 stripes 1st kyu
  • Black Belt with stripe Shodan-Ho
  • Black Belt Shodan (1st Degree)

En Español: Karate tradicional

Follow our Social Media!
Subscribe to our YouTube Channel Click Here
Like us on FaceBook Here


Enter your email address to subscribe to Sports& and receive notifications of news, products, events and more by email.